W3|c0m3 2 mY B|og!!!

In other words

EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

Posted by Shamn on 10/06/2009


Suggested Retail Price: $1249.00†
canon f4LSpecifications:
Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 70 – 200mm f/4
Lens Construction: 20 elements in 15 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 34°- 12°(with full-frame cameras)
Focus Adjustment: AF with full-time manual
Closest Focusing Distance: 3.94 ft. / 1.2m
Zoom System: 7-group helical zoom (rotational angle: 72°)
Filter Size: 67mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.0 x 6.8 in./76 x 172mm 26.8 oz./760g (lens only)
At first, I wasn’t sure I wanted to spend more than a thousand dollars for this lens but after comparing it with 2.8L IS, I decided to go for f/4L IS, since I rarely take a tripod especially travelling and vacations so size and weight are important factors for me. Basically, this is the lens that I can put in my purse everyday for a hand held shots. It’s just light enough to carry at all times. I had this lens for about a month now and I took it on a cruise to Alaska, and this is just simply amazing! Sharpness at wide is phenomenal and it has excellent image stabilization! Canon’s 2.8 is obviously great lens but it doubles the weight and you need a frequent use of a tripod, and that would be my excuse to not carry it.
I took a lot of photos handholding at 1/15 and photos were very sharp! AF is also very fast and accurate even in dim light.
Image stabilization is very important for me! I would strongly encourage anyone to consider buying the IS version, although it’s more expensive, it is still worth the difference.
Here are a few unedited examples of images and all shots were hand held:

(Please note that all my personal reviews are based on my own personal experience, and is no way impacted to the company mentioned.)

Please do not reproduce any of these photos without the permission of the copyright holder. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

 
